Tag Archives: Rep. Tim O’Driscoll

MSBA honors Sen. Rosen and Rep. O’Driscoll

MSBA recently presented Sen. Julie Rosen (Vernon Center) and Rep. Tim O’Driscoll (Sartell) with its “Outstanding Legislator of the Year” award for 2018. MSBA officials honored Sen. Rosen and Rep. O’Driscoll for their work during the 2018 legislative session on … Continue reading

Posted in 2018 legislature, Pensions | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Session Daily: Omnibus state employee retirement bill passes House

Source: Session Daily By Katie Spielberger Departing member Rep. Joe Atkins (DFL-Inver Grove Heights) had aimed to “go quietly into the night” this session. But this proved impossible when his amendment to the omnibus state employee pension bill was ruled … Continue reading

Posted in 2016 Legislative Session | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Minnesota Senate confirms Aaron Vande Linde as state School Trust Lands director

Aaron Vande Linde was confirmed as the state’s School Trust Lands director at a Senate hearing held during today’s Senate Education Committee meeting. Gov. Mark Dayton formally appointed Vande Linde as director of the School Trust Lands in September 2015. Vande … Continue reading

Posted in 2016 Legislative Session, School Trust Lands | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Pension commission approves new mortality assumptions

Source: Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association The Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement (LCPR) met Wednesday and Thursday to hear testimony from the statewide retirement systems and the St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund Association (SPTRFA) regarding sustainability measures necessitated by improvements … Continue reading

Posted in Pensions, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

MSBA, legislative leaders applaud Gov. Dayton’s appointment of School Trust Lands Director

Minnesota School Boards Association (MSBA) officials and state legislators are commending Gov. Mark Dayton today for selecting Aaron Vande Linde as the state’s first School Trust Lands Director on Tuesday, September 8. Visit http://mn.gov/governor/newsroom/pressreleasedetail.jsp?id=102-171242 for official notification. Vande Linde will … Continue reading

Posted in School Trust Lands | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

MSBA at the Capitol — MSBA bill would establish teacher loan forgiveness program

The House Education Innovation Policy Committee heard 12 bills Tuesday ranging from concurrent enrollment to transportation to teaching programs to data on homeless students. MSBA’s proposal to establish a teacher loan forgiveness program (HF 1170, authored by Rep. Peggy Bennett) … Continue reading

Posted in 2015 Legislative Session, School Trust Lands | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

MSBA at the Capitol — Sen. Ruud takes over as chair of the School Trust Lands commission

Monday’s Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission meeting was full of action. Commission chair Rep. Tim O’Driscoll announced he will be stepping down as chair of the commission, but he will continue to be one the six House members appointed by … Continue reading

Posted in Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment