Legislative Study Group on Educator Licensing Convenes its First Meeting

The Legislative Study Group on Educator Licensing held its first meeting Tuesday, June 28th at the State Office Building.  The members unanimously elected Representative Sondra Erickson and Senator Chuck Wiger as co-chairs of the study group. Members appointed to the legislative study group are: Representatives Christensen, Davnie, Loon, Mariani and Yarusso; and Senators Clausen, Dahle, Dahms, Housley and Pratt.

The agenda included an overview by Judy Randall from the Office of the Legislative Auditor on the 2016 OLA’s evaluation report on teacher licensure.  To read the report click here: http://www.auditor.leg.state.mn.us/ped/2016/teachers.htm

Throughout the overview and discussion there was one reoccurring theme:  Minnesota’s current teacher licensure system is complicated and confusing. Chair Wiger asked the members, “Are there any of us who believe the teacher licensure system does not need reform?” Not one member responded.

MSBA will continue to attend the meetings and update you as the process continues.

The next monthly meeting is scheduled for Thursday, July 21 at 1:00 p.m.


About mnmsba

The Minnesota School Boards Association, a leading advocate for public education, supports, promotes and strengthens the work of public school boards.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s