MSBA Action Alert — Stand up for public education! Urge Gov. Dayton, Legislature to support education funding formula increase

Dear MSBA Members:

Our state is sitting on a projected $1.9 billion budget surplus over the next biennium, which makes this the perfect time to advocate for MSBA’s No. 1 legislative priority — adequate funding for public education!

Stand up for public education! Please urge Gov. Mark Dayton and legislative leaders to add a $300 increase to the basic general education funding formula each of the next two fiscal years. The governor and the Legislature need to hear from YOU before they set their next budget targets.

A $300 increase per year would help school districts avoid budget cuts, continue work on teacher evaluation, integrate technology into teaching, make progress on World’s Best Workforce goals, aid in capital facilities maintenance, and much more.

Tell your district’s story. Include the cuts you would need to make if the governor’s budget were enacted.

TALKING POINTS: The basic general education funding formula is the source of revenue all of our school districts depend on to provide appropriate educational services to our students. The formula is the fairest, most equitable funding that benefits all of the 850,000 students who attend our public schools day in and day out — they are our state’s future workforce. Click here for additional talking points.

Please see the contact information below for Gov. Dayton and key legislators. Also, contact your local legislators. Visit www.gis.leg.mn/OpenLayers/districts to find out who represents you.

Thank you for your advocacy and your board service!

Sincerely,

The MSBA Government Relations staffGrace Keliher (gkeliher@mnmsba.org), Denise Dittrich (ddittrich@mnmsba.org) and Snezhana Bessonov (sbessonov@mnmsba.org)

PLEASE CONTACT:

Governor Mark Dayton: 800-657-3717 | mark.dayton@state.mn.us

Senate Majority Leader Tom Bakk: 651-296-8881 | www.senate.mn/senatorbakkemail

Speaker of the House Kurt Daudt: 651-296-5364 | rep.kurt.daudt@house.mn

House Education Finance Committee

Chair Rep. Jenifer Loon: 651-296-7449 | rep.jenifer.loon@house.mn

Vice Chair Rep. Ron Kresha: 651-296-4247 | rep.ron.kresha@house.mn

Committee members: www.house.leg.state.mn.us/comm/committeemembers.asp?comm=89007

House Education Innovation Policy Committee

Chair Rep. Sondra Erickson: 651-296-6746 | rep.sondra.erickson@house.mn

Vice Chair Rep. Peggy Bennett: 651-296-8216 | rep.peggy.bennett@house.mn

Committee members: www.house.leg.state.mn.us/comm/committeemembers.asp?comm=89008

Senate Education Committee

Chair: Sen. Chuck Wiger: 651-296-6820 | www.senate.mn/senatorwigeremail

Vice Chair: Sen. Alice Johnson: 651-296-2556 | www.senate.mn/senatorjohnsonemail

Committee members: www.senate.mn/committees/committee_members.php?ls=&cmte_id=3077

About mnmsba

The Minnesota School Boards Association, a leading advocate for public education, supports, promotes and strengthens the work of public school boards.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s